HOW MANY MILES OF ROAD ARE THERE IN BALTIMORE?

That’s an excellent question, without a definite answer. But I wanted to know because I was ready to do some math. I wanted to see if I honestly ran Baltimore.

The best source of information is the City Department of Transportation office, specifically the CIS Analyst and the Land Conveyance Department. (I think CIS stands for Computer Information Services.)

According to the City DOT website, Baltimore contains 2000 miles of roadways, in addition to 456 miles of alleys. I still needed more specifics.

Screenshot

After some email exchanges, I received some better details. According to the DOT, there are 2250 miles of roadways, including the alleys. I did not run the alleys. That brings the total down to 1794 miles of city roads.

I have been clear from the very start that I started this project with a template that included 100% known roads that I have (completely) run over the past 13 years.

After doing some ridiculous math and mileage calculations with that map, I gave myself a 300 mile credit. It’s probably more, but 300 is fair. I think, I hope.

So that leaves 1494 miles for me to run and complete before I could say I ran Baltimore. Back to more math!

This project took an adjusted total of 210 days to complete. And I will conservatively say that I ran an average of 7 miles a day. 7 miles? You’re crazy. My answer, yes! Crazy! Ask my toes, and my head, Most days were more than 7 miles.

210 days at 7 miles a day brings the total to 1470 and I needed to run 1494. Can I have 24 miles of grace? Please?

So there we are. The Baltimore Banner article a few weeks back mentions 1100 miles. That is too low. I hope you agree.

Screenshot

And as I said, I ran no less than 90% of every street, 100% was the often-reached target. I say no less than 90% because I can’t say I ran every inch or foot.

I feel a little better now. My biggest fear is that I will lose the car that I will hopefully be given since I completed the project. I haven’t received it yet but I saw it during today’s run. It’s my absolute favorite car and it’s parked out on Sulgrave. Thanks in advance.


Leave a comment